Media Temple Customers

A blog by (mt) for (mt) customers

Cluster 2 Back, Customer Care, Migration Recap

with 6 comments

So Cluster 2 was back online after 8+ hours of downtime in my case, and still down in some other  peoples cases. My Account Center is still locked out after 19+ hours and some sites of mine have errors that I can’t seem to troubleshoot due to the Account Center Lockout. 

picture-2

I got a phone call from Andrew, a Customer Service V.P. at Media Temple whom I have spoken to before, here are some points that were addressed.

“What percentage of Cluster 2 customers have been migrated to Gen 2 architecture?”

Andrew: “44% of Cluster 2 Customers have been moved.”  (which is the same as it was back on March 6th)

Brennan: “Wow!”

Andrew: “We just finished our Fiji Agent last friday. This will speed up the process.”

“Why was no one moved during the last two months? Or at least why was whiny little bitch customers like me not moved, even after I asked to be moved after the 36 hours of downtime?”

Andrew: “We had faith that the Cluster 2 hardware would be ok.” 

Brennan: “Seriously? You had faith that after 36 hours of downtime [the same hardware setup] would be ok?” 

Andrew: “Well, let me rephrase that. We wanted to make sure we were making the best decisions to migrate people at the best times so there would be minimal amounts of downtime” …and… “we have been putting all of our resources and developers into  the Fiji Agent.”

Brennan: “Wow! Too bad this had to happen.”

Media Temple claimed to be on a “road to better transparency” something about this doesn’t feel transparent to me. I said “Transparency doesn’t mean talking more, it means being honnest”

Andrew: “We haven’t been dishonest about anything.”

While technically that might be true. Media Temple did claim on March 6th that:

Next 30 days, Cluster-to-Cluster migration tools. We have committed significant developer and administrator manpower to the development of Cluster-to-Cluster migration tools.”

I understand. Software development does sometimes take longer than anticipated…

But for some reason I am inclined to say bullshit. If it looks like a bull and smells like shit it’s probably bullshit. I seem to remember around the time of SXSW (March 17th), during the absurdly long period (1.5 weeks) of POP email server IP blacklisting, there was a lot of Tweets about how amazing the Media Temple SXSW party was. In fact they threw The Official Closing Party for the SXSW Interactive Festival. This party was replete with international music groups, an open bar, a photo booth, and a mechanical bull. 

sxsw_bull

Maybe I’m off base here, but I imagine throwing a party of that scale takes time to organize and a substantial budget to pay for. Oddly, I don’t see the correlation between mechanical bulls and fixing unstable web servers but maybe that’s just me.

In hindsight, considering this new downtime debacle, and the facts, I have to ask the question: How much of Media Temple’s resources were devoted to getting frustrated customers to a more stable hosting platform like their Gen 2 architecture? 

Oh, Andrew also offered to move my sites within the hour to Cluster 4 so I could use the Account Center… this however could result in more patches of downtime… I wonder if they understand that downtime during the middle of the day is a bad thing for websites? I said “How about you do that later tonight.”

**The quotes may not be exact as I didn’t have an audio recorder handy. I tried my best. 

Written by bnvk

May 5, 2009 at 6:23 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve been asking the same question about all these parties they’re throwing. It’s more than one, they’re all over the place.

    Customers seeing MT throw parties gives the wrong impression when there’s so many outages that come into play and the @mt_monitor account on Twitter is updated more than some of my (established) industry friends.

    Chris

    May 5, 2009 at 9:08 pm

  2. Straight from my twitter:

    “Time to leave @mediatemple web hosting to the kids that steal Photoshop and frequent overhyped deisgn blogs. I need a web host that works.”

    That IS who they are marketing to these days with the parties.

    If they wanted to market to the people who need stability and reliability, they would have fixed ALL the (gs) servers by now.

    Aaron

    May 5, 2009 at 10:35 pm

  3. The 30 sites (mostly smaller ones) on my (gs) have been down for a good 24 hours as I write this. What’s frustrating to me is that because I’ve been a customer with them since 2006 and thus on Cluster 01 I’m being punished by being one of the last to be moved to Fiji.

    Actually, moving to Fiji myself sounds pretty good right now.

    Bryan

    May 6, 2009 at 5:25 am

  4. My client is lucky enough also to be a long time customer and thus is suffering the most.

    As of 10:23 AM EST, every site is still down for us. 30+ sites loading blank pages.

    They say they have over 500 to restore still and have slowed to a pace of like 15 an hour. If this pace continues, this outage may be 48 hours for us.

    Bryan, I’ll see you on the beach in Fiji. I could use a cocktail.

    Jackson

    May 6, 2009 at 2:25 pm

  5. […] the multiple phone calls I got due to my loud complaints on this blog and Twitter? I don’t know. For me 8 hours of downtime, 20 hrs of Account Center lockout and […]


Leave a Reply

