Media Temple Customers

A blog by (mt) for (mt) customers

8+ Hours Of Downtime

with 13 comments

After 4+ hours of unexpected server downtime, a couple irate clients, 1 semi angry Tweet I received a call from  customer service at Media Temple. She wanted to know if I had any questions…

My only question was:

“What percentage of Cluster 2 customers have been moved from Gen 1 architecture to Gen 2 architecture”

This customer support lady didn’t know the answer to that question. She put me on hold to try to get the answer. After a few minutes waiting she said “they have no way of knowing exactly.”

That was the wrong answer. Because now I am left feeling that Media Temple either has no clue about what they’re doing or they are not being honest. How can I jump to this conclusion? Well on March 6th 2009, following the 36+ hours of downtime, Media Temple made this blog post: Anatomy of Storage on the GRID

It explained all the old architecture (Gen1 ) and new architecture (Gen 2). 

2gens

This blog post also claimed:

“At time of writing, 37% of Cluster 1 customers, and 44% of Cluster 2 customers have already been migrated.”

So I am forced to really wonder how 2 months later they don’t know at all… I mean 80% or 70% percent would have been undesirable answers but “We have no way of knowing” is kind of absurd. They didn’t project to be done with until June but what I am left to think now?  

In either case I  getting very very distrustful with them as a hosting company. I was one of the customers affected by the 36 hours of downtime staring Feb 28, 2009. I had setup this blog. I got a lot of attention for rallying the twitter/blog-o-sphere. Back then I got a phone call from a V.P. at Media Temple followed by personal phone number for V.P. at Blue Arc (mt hardware supplier). They both sorta blamed the other for the downtime. Fair enough. It still sucked. I didn’t want to go through the headache of moving to a new ISP and I was appeased by some PR people- they gave us all free hosting for a month. But now another HUGE outage is just unacceptable. 

 

 

Written by bnvk

May 5, 2009 at 4:09 am

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I asked the same question when I called media temple a few weeks ago. I got the same “we don’t know” answer from the billing department. I was forwarded to the tech department, I got another “we don’t really know” answer.

    So exactly how did Media Temple get the 37% and 44% figures in their blog post?

    Thanks for the write up! Excellent work as always!

    Aaron

    May 5, 2009 at 4:32 am

  2. […] some-more here: 4+ Hours Of Downtime No TweetBacks yet. (Be the first to Tweet this post) Tags: answer, archives, back-to-top, […]

  3. Five of my sites have been down today (May 4th / 5th) since at least 5pm. No access to anything as up 1:15 am. In the mean time, I’ve signed up with another hosting service and have been transferring files in hopes of moving over in the next day or so. I can’t move databases over yet though because I can’t access them on MediaTemple’s servers.

    I was down for the weekend two months ago as well, and barely let that slide. After this, I’m done with MediaTemple forever. The new host is faster in tests so far, offers more storage, and is less than half the price.

    It’s unbelievable that they would let this happen again! They’re going to lose so many customers.

    Biff

    May 5, 2009 at 5:14 am

    • What host did you go to? I’m pretty damn sure I’m done with Media Temple also.

      brennannovak

      May 5, 2009 at 5:58 am

      • I signed up for AN Hosting as recommended in several boards. It’s surprisingly faster with database access and general page display. It also lets you host 20 alternate domains (as opposed to the 5 that MT offers on my plan), and has 10x as much storage — and less than half the price for a two year contract. I can finally get into the DB on MT, so I’m going to move it over today.

        The worry with AN is that it may become too popular and collapse in similar ways.

        Biff

        May 5, 2009 at 3:26 pm

  4. Yeah this is ridiculous. Just as bad as the crashes are the “scheduled maintenance” which result in more downtime and seemingly no improvement.

    Who is a good host for a seamless transition of a wordpress site and how hard is it to move to a new host?

    Alex

    May 5, 2009 at 6:18 am

    • It is pretty easy to migrate a wordpress site to a new host. Which host would be best for ya depends on what time of hosting you need.

      brennannovak

      May 5, 2009 at 6:49 am

  5. The following comes directly as a quote from the gridserver FAQs hosted at this url:

    http://mediatemple.net/webhosting/gs/faq.php

    Quote:
    “Does the Grid system go down for maintenance? The Grid system is designed for continuous operation 24/7/365. The distributed nature of the (gs) Grid-Service nodes allows this system to be maintained without ever being taken offline. Should a maintenance issue arise that would require a disruption of service all efforts will be made to open a maintenance window during off peak hours and provide all effected customers with ample advanced notice.”

    Hilarious isn’t it? False advertising?

    Aaron

    May 5, 2009 at 7:24 am

    • Seriously. That is exactly the reason I signed up with them to begin with. The promise of “continuous operation” which seems to be a totally bogus claim.

      During the week and 1/2 email black listing fiasco I spoke a bit with folks over at Mosso (which is much more expensive $100/mo) and got a better understanding of Grid Computing- even that can’t be 100% uptime but Media Temple’s Cluster 2 / Grid is a joke and they obviously haven’t taken it seriously enough to get customers off of it which equals a big fat FAIL!

      brennannovak

      May 5, 2009 at 8:09 am

  6. http://www.webfaction.com FTW! These guys care about their customers and their servers are much faster and more stable than MT’s.

    Ben

    May 5, 2009 at 3:16 pm

  7. My service was back up around 4 am EST, meaning around 11 hours of completely halted service for all of my sites. Is everyone else back up?

    Biff

    May 5, 2009 at 3:29 pm

  8. […] “What percentage of Cluster 2 customers have been migrated to Gen 2 architecture?” Andrew: “44% of Cluster 2 Customers have been moved.”  (which is the same as it was back on March 6th) […]

  9. […] clients.  MediaTemple used to be our web-host of choice, but because of their repeated downtime failures we looked for better for our […]


Leave a Reply

