Media Temple Customers

A blog by (mt) for (mt) customers

“Cluster 2 Unavailable” The Aftermath

with 5 comments

mediatemp_down

After 38 hours of downtime on Media Temple’s (gs) Cluster 2 from  12:30 PM Sat Feb 28th – 6:00 AM Mon March 2nd all systems seem to be back online to where they were before the crash. 

At 6:00 PM Mon Mar 2nd Media Temple posted a blog entry: “Incident Resolved. Service credits being issued” which explains some of the technical details as to why we experienced this epic amount of downtime. They also stated that they are extending credit to all (3,000)  Cluster 2 customers totaling approx. $100,000.00 

To explain the customer service side of how (mt) handled the downtime they sent Steve Reynolds a personal email which he posted on his blog “Official Response from Media Temple to Open Letter” Media Temple takes responsibility and aims to do it better next time.

After speaking with Media Temple V.P., Alex Capehart, I felt better about staying on board and giving (mt) a second chance. After speaking with BlueArc V.P., Louis Gray, I felt a tad less safe staying with Media Temple. Why? They both said things under the “You can’t go public with this…” clause at which I will not go public… but there was a fundamental difference between them in regards to their companies responsibility. Fair enough. They  both seem like sincere; nice dudes who both have a good handle on what’s going on within their industry. Rarely in life are two point of views identical when explaining why a misfortune has occurred- especially when it’s two companies stuck in a symbiotic relationship. 

The fact is accidents occur- look at what happened to Ma.gnolia at least in (mt)’s case no data was lost. I think the ugly truth is that customers who can’t yet afford $50+ /mo hosting will probably have to put up with some occasional downtime. For some customers this will be inexcusable and they will be change web hosts. It is unfortunate that the customers who will be most affected by these outages are the customers on the verge of growing into more secure hosting plans- the independent design firms hosting a handful of clients but can’t yet spring for VPS or dedicated.

The company that figures out how to deliver bulletproof, scaleable, and affordable hosting and have great customer service will quickly have a rock solid client base and reputation. What matters most until then for me is the customer service, transparency, etc… that make these outages tolerable. In pursuit of that cause I’ll give Media Temple one more chance.

Written by bnvk

March 3, 2009 at 6:14 am

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great post! Let’s see how these credits will be rolled out to all 3,000 customers that were affected. I am more inclined to not jump ship just yet if I get some kind of compensation.

    Luis Mendoza

    March 3, 2009 at 6:42 am

    • I just received an official email from Media Temple with my credit. You should check your email.

      brennannovak

      March 3, 2009 at 9:38 am

  2. Just curious what type of credit you got?

    Duane Storey

    March 3, 2009 at 7:07 pm

  3. I also experienced this 3-DAY OUTAGE EXTRAVAGANZA..

    I also WAS NOT notified!

    Why can’t they send out an email telling us?

    Anyway, pretty crappy, I’m looking out mosso.com hosted on rackspace!

    Josh

    March 3, 2009 at 11:18 pm

  4. I experienced significant downtime but wasn’t notified nor given a service credit. I’ve been with MediaTemple for about 18 months now, and I’ve put up with a lack of server resources and downtime for way too long. Simple PHP scripts seem to struggle to run on overloaded servers.

    In the beginning, I recommended MediaTemple to my customers and currently maintain about a half dozen accounts. It’s the same story on most of them.

    In my calls to MediaTemple for support, I’ve been given short, rude and condescending service that was more interested in getting me off the phone than resolving my problem.

    I told myself that the next time there would be an issue, if MediaTemple isn’t able to compensate me, I’m moving on to a new host. 18 months is a long time for a hosting provider, so it’s sad to see that customer loyalty rewarded with nothing.

    Tony Webster

    March 9, 2009 at 10:02 am


Leave a Reply

