Media Temple Customers

A blog by (mt) for (mt) customers

Media Temple’s Gridserver- Awesome or Lame?

with 10 comments

gridserver

According to this article on TechCrunch Media Temple’s GridServer platform is supposed to deliver the following:

“on-demand scalability means you’ll always be ready for intense bursts of traffic; and the growing audience resulting from your online success. All of this power, controlled through our brand new AccountCenter, is available today for a price point unmatched by any competing service.”

Does it deliver? In my experience absolutely not. I’ve been with Media Temple on a Gridserver account since last April. I’ve experienced more downtime and latency than on my previous shared server account with Lunarpages. The only difference is they allow up to 100 “Alternate Domains” and they have awesome, well informed, American based tech support.  If it wasn’t for that last redeeming fact I would have left a long time ago. 

I am curious as to other peoples experiences on other Clusters… I have been on Cluster 2 since last April and on Cluster 4 since last week… which had about an hour of database connectivity downtime last friday- to which their reply was perhaps I should pay for a MySQL Container which costs an extra $20+ a month

Written by bnvk

March 1, 2009 at 11:14 pm

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. whoa sorry about the earlier comments I thought this was a blog built by mediatemple in response to this.

    They are not prepared for the outpouring of customer frustration that is going to come knocking at their door. Twitter/blogs/websites all will speak of this travesty.

    Gitamba

    March 1, 2009 at 11:38 pm

  2. this page concerns me:

    http://mediatemple.net/labs/cs/

    and specifically the following:

    “The (cs) Cluster-Server features an entirely re-architected storage system designed to eliminate one of the largest single points of consistent instability on the previous (gs) Grid-Service platform.”

    so, they’re fully aware grid server isn’t fit for purpose but they keep selling it anyway?

    sidepodcast

    March 1, 2009 at 11:50 pm

    • The upgrades for (gs) over the last couple of months are effectively the fruits from (cs). I think (mt) is well aware that (gs) is nowhere near the standard it should be and have taken the line that we should rebuild a better system and keep the old system going, like putting a band-aid on the Titanic.

      Jack Tams

      March 2, 2009 at 12:02 am

    • Yeah. The “Cluster Server” does sound suspicious to me to. I’m REALLY curious as to how it is different from a “Grid Server” when the problem with the Grid is always the Cluster.

      brennannovak

      March 2, 2009 at 12:02 am

      • (cs) is what (gs) should have been, but as we well know (gs) has failed.

        Jack Tams

        March 2, 2009 at 12:04 am

  3. MediaTemple have already failed by the mere fact they can’t even get some kind stop gap solution up and running. It can be that difficult to provision everybody with a (dv) segment so they can at least post a message saying why the site is down. Rather than a stupid 403 error.

    The (gs) has always been the runt of the litter (dv) are fantastic and I have managed to get the majority of my effected sites over to (dv)’s while (gs) is fixed.

    Jack Tams

    March 2, 2009 at 12:00 am

  4. I’d prefer if you stop spamming Twitter with your blog link. I’m trying to follow reactions on Summize and you’re clogging it.

    FB

    March 2, 2009 at 12:08 am

    • Sorry about that. I realized ppl were RT my link and I stopped. Keep up the interest.

      brennannovak

      March 2, 2009 at 12:14 am

  5. The (GS) is a failure in actual real-world use.

    On paper the (GS) is an amazing value, and I moved to MT from 1and1.com about a year ago thinking that the (GS) would solve my hosting problems.

    I’m on the (GS) cluster 2, storage 4 – currently wondering why I’m paying $20 per month for glitch prone hosting. The (GS) is like one huge beta test at the moment, and we all know people don’t pay to beta test anything.

    Pros:
    – 1TB transfer for $20 a month is really nice
    – great admin panel design

    Cons:
    – MT customer support is slow to respond
    – the admin panel is slow, lags often, problems with 1 click installs
    – 24+ continuous downtime with no end in site is just unacceptable
    – due to the way the (GS) is set up, low traffic WordPress sites experience a good 10-15 second initial lag (I’ve tested this with no script, no plugin installs across multiple web hosts.. my conclusion is the MySQL connections for the (GS) have the worse overall lag)
    – hard upselling for the $20 a month MySQL container as an addon to the (GS) to fix database lag

    Although I’m not in the 24hr downtime club (which is c2 c1-3), I’m certainly upset that cluster 2 is experiencing a problem that is taking over 24 hours to resolve.

    Ironically, MT claims the pro of the (GS) is that it can withstand digg-like traffic spikes, but then they attribute the “bad-neighbor” effect for a whole storage container going off-line? That makes zero sense.

    As it stands, I’m currently looking for a new webhost. I’ll wait and see how Media Temple resolves the issue before I move, but I need to see:

    1. a refund of at least one month’s service fee.. perhaps even a discounted rate for the remainder of my stay

    2. a explanation that the MT engineers have found the problem, and can PREVENT the problem from occurring again

    3. an estimated date for the (CS) rollout, since the (GS) is hopelessly flawed beyond repair

    Aaron

    March 2, 2009 at 12:44 am

  6. i have used cluster 2 for nearly 12 months now and the uptime hand QoS has been borderline. I even have the $20.00 + a month SQL lite upgrade and i am still unhappy with the service and speed of DB calls.

    the only thing keeping me there is the amount of time it will take me to migrate to a new host.

    i used to praise MT for service and speed but my Dreamhost Qos far exceeds MT and is 1/3 of the price monthly.

    MediaTemple looks good but is held together with smoke and mirrors..

    adam

    March 2, 2009 at 6:15 am


Leave a Reply

